|Oregon Finders Law
PROPERTY FOUND BY PRIVATE CITIZENS (ORS 98.005)
If any person finds money or goods valued
at $100.00 or more, and if the owner of the money or goods is unknown, such person shall:
- Within 10 days after the date of the finding, shall give notice of the finding IN WRITING to the County Clerk of the county in which the money or goods was found.
- Within 20 days after the date of the finding, the finder of the money or goods shall cause to be PUBLISHED IN A NEWSPAPER of general circulation in the county, a notice of the finding once each week for two consecutive
weeks. Each such notice shall state the general description of money or goods found, the name and address of the finder, and final date before which such goods may be claimed.
- If no person appears and establishes his ownership of the money or goods prior to the expiration of THREE MONTHS after the date of the notice to the County Clerk, the finder shall be the owner of the money or goods.
LIABILITY OF NON-COMPLYING FINDER (ORS 98.015)
If any person who finds money or goods valued at $100.00 or more fails to comply with ORS 98.005, the person shall be liable upon conviction for violation of ORS 164.065,
to the county for the money or goods or the full value of the money or goods.
RIGHTS OF OWNER (ORS 98.025)
If an owner of money or goods found by another person appears and establishes his claim to such money or goods within the time period prescribed by ORS 98.005, the owner shall have restitution
of such money or goods or their value upon payment of all costs and charges incurred in the finding, giving of notice, care and custody of such money or goods.
Marion County Clerk
P.O. Box 14500
Salem, Oregon 97309
Check here to see if we have any items of interest in our impound that may belong to you.
|Statesman-Journal Classified Ads
|Keizertimes Classified Ads
(See phone book listings)